McGloin a Finalist for Burlsworth Trophy!

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa.; November 27, 2012 – Penn State record-setting quarterback Matt McGloin (Scranton) has been named one of three finalists for the Burlsworth Trophy, presented to the nation’s outstanding college football player who began his career as a walk-on.

The Burlsworth Trophy was first presented in 2010 in honor of Brandon Burlsworth, a former All-American and walk-on offensive lineman at the University of Arkansas. Burlsworth died in an automobile accident 11 days after being selected by the Indianapolis Colts as the 63rd overall pick in the 1999 NFL Draft.

The three finalists will be honored and the winner of the 2012 Burlsworth Trophy will be announced Monday, Dec. 3 at a banquet in Springdale, Ark., sponsored by the Springdale Rotary Club. Fans can vote for McGloin daily via the AT&T Fan Vote at

A fifth-year senior, McGloin is joined as a Burlsworth Trophy finalist by safety Jordan Kovacs (Michigan) and tackle David Quessenberry (San Jose State). Fifty players were nominated for the 2012 Burlsworth Trophy.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s